the beauty of drumsynth sounds

Passend zu den ins ddrum geladenen Vermona DRM**-Klängen und getrommelten 80er Fill-Ins bei der Turntablerocker Show, hier zwei e-Drum Pioniere:
Einmal Sly Dunbar mit seinem Simmons SDS-V in Karibikfarben* (1984/85). Electro Reggae vibes… 

Und das große Tama Fibre Star Kit von Gary Numan Drummer Cedric Sharpley mit Synare.
[via @tama_drums_history]

Gary Numan „Cars“ (1979), mit dem elektronischen Crash-Effekt (>>a burst of filtered noise<<)

Hey, und Peter Erskine! So ein geschmackvoller Player! Nicht nur, dass er im Fusion-Kontext ein Simmons integriert (Diktat der Mode?), sonders es auch jenseits der oft gehörten Tom Fills bespielt, beispielsweise indem den neuen Solisten zunächst rein elektrisch begleitet (hier ab 15:03). Zudem auch noch White-Noise-Sounds nach meinem Geschmack verwendet! Ach, überhaupt: >>But my initial interest in electronics had to do with triggering sounds from the acoustic drums. I enjoyed being able to kick in an electronic sound at a certain point that could make a floor tom sound like the end of the world. If you’ve got a good sound system, something like that can be real effective if you use it judiciously. So I had a Simmons SDS5, which was perfect for that. It had a fat, beefy, analog sound.<< Peter Erskine in Modern Drummer July 1987

Der Hancock/Rockit Gig (Live in London, ein Tag nach meinem zwölften Geburtstag…) mit zwei Simmons-Drummer darf eigentlich auch nicht fehlen:

* In der Red Bull Music Academy erzählte Sly folgende Geschichte: >>It was the Syndrum first. I got one – two little Caribbean musicians – and we brought it home to experiment. But then again, I saw an advertisement for Simmons, so I ordered one, a red, green and gold one. But then I canceled it because I didn’t know what I was buying. I think Boy George and Culture Club bought it. I said, “Really? Now I’ve got to get it.” So, I went and bought another one for when we were cutting the Black Uhuru Anthem album [1983]. They sent it down to Nassau. The first time I played it on a record was the Rolling Stones’ Too Much Blood album [1983], there’s a track where I did a snare with the Simmons for the first time. Mick said, “Come and overdub this.” So I went and overdubbed it. I knew it was going to be the age of electronics, so I started getting into it. I used a Simmons on the Anthem album and a couple of records in Jamaica. <<

** apropos: ein Vermona DRM-1 MKIV geht demnächst an den Start

*** auch der Übergang ins Digitale ist noch sehr charmant:

[Bill Bruford]

Eine Antwort to “the beauty of drumsynth sounds”

  1. Oli Says:

    Dave Weckl (im anfänglichen Elektric Band Trio) darf natürlich auch nicht fehlen: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RtN0YzEW9JY

Hinterlasse einen Kommentar

Diese Seite verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden..